Tim Stafford “Unsung Hero” Award

The Tim Stafford Memorial Award was created to recognize outstanding individuals who have contributed to the success of the Law Enforcement Torch Run on a state, local or community level. The Tim Stafford “Unsung Hero” should be someone who contributes to the Torch Run in spirit, dedication and enthusiasm in an effective and unheralded fashion. The award was also created to honor the memory of Trooper Tim Stafford, Oklahoma Highway Patrol and his many contributions to Law Enforcement Torch Run and Special Olympics Oklahoma.

Unsung Heroes

2022 Brandon Schneider

Oklahoma Highway Patrol

2021 Jeff Sewell

Oklahoma Highway Patrol

2020 Tommy Evans

Edmond Police Department

2019 Fran Singleton
Oklahoma Highway Patrol

2018 Paul Fox
Payne County Sheriff’s Office

2017 Deputy Justin Green
Tulsa County Sheriff’s Office

2016 Lt. Charles Avery
Oklahoma County Sheriff’s Office

2015 Sgt. Shawn Byrne
Oklahoma City Police Department

2014 Lt. Jim Fisher
Oklahoma Highway Patrol (Ret.)

2013 Jennifer Fisher
Oklahoma Highway Patrol

2012 Mike McPherson
Oklahoma City Police Department

2011 Debbie Dorris
Joseph Harp Correctional Center

2010 Steve Burrows 
Oklahoma Highway Patrol

2009 Brett House 
Oklahoma City Police Department

2008 Don Hull
Oklahoma City Police Department

2007 Jill McPherson

2006 Mark Wollmershauser 
Tulsa Police Department (Ret.)

2005 Milt Gilliam 
Department of Corrections

2004 Capt. Phil Carr 
Oklahoma City Police Department (Ret.)

2003 Capt. Stewart Meyer
Oklahoma Highway Patrol (Ret.)